top of page

Pickleball Rules!

Official Tournament Rulebook

The answer to the posted question cites the relevant section in the USA Pickleball Association (USAPA) and the International Federation of Pickleball (IFP) 2018 Official Tournament Rulebook.

The Question!

Just as you hit your serve you call out the score.

Fault?  No Fault?

The Answer!

4.M.11 A fault is called if the server hits the ball to make a serve while the score is being called.

The Question!

In a doubles match one of your opponents calls your shot "in" but her partner calls it "out". 

In? or Out? or Let?

The Answer!

6.D.9. In doubles play, if one player calls the ball “out” and the partner calls it “in,” then doubt exists and the team’s call will be “in,” (except that any player may appeal a call to the referee).

The Question!

You legally volley the ball for a winner but your partner has a foot in the non-volley zone (kitchen).

Fault or No Fault?

The Answer!

9.H. There is no violation if a player returns the ball while his or her partner is standing in the non-volley zone. BUT...

9.C. It is a fault if the player’s momentum causes the player to contact anything that is touching the non-volley zone, including the player’s partner.

bottom of page